what lays behind name#WhatsInAName

on

Many a times sitting vain I wonder what would be if this had happened rather than that or what would have been if I had been there ,what if ,what not,what for..One most frequent one which I guess had popped in my head atleast a hundred times over is how the day today scenes would have changed if we did not had names.Full of confusions and and lots of trauma I guess!Imagine what would we write in the place of names in contact list..huhh..Well this should not occupy my mind’s space as we have this thing names.to help us out.Turning to my name the first thing I happen to encounter always is people asking me atleast two times how to pronounce it before fully or partially getting it.Now I have grown more or less accustomed to it.So whenever I am asked my name by a new person ,I patiently reply and then wait for a “Sorry!I did’nt get that” or “Yu..what?” or “ohh ragini!”.For the first one I repeat again,for the second I correct them and for the last I say “no! It’s YUVragini” (when I desperately want to yell ..you know what?never mind!).And more to it when in examination hall under peer pressure of not knowing what lays ahead my name adds to it.When I have to darken 9+9 =18 (9 of surname) circles for my name alone,I do not want to do anything else but curse the creator of this ‘darkening the circles’ scheme to the extreme.I remember one friend of mine who used to give me cards spelling it yOuvragini till 6th grade.Now finally she has learnt to spell it the write way. :).But all things one side and my love for my name the other.Despite of it being a bit long I like the way it sounds.A complicated name suits a complicated person.I have noticed some people who at first try to shorten it to Yuvi or Ragini,ultimately giving up and returning to the full name back.It forces a secret smirk inside me :p .After all I am named this way that is why it is supposed to be wholesome and not to be twisted around.And until a few days back when my little 6 year old sister addressed me with my full name (keeping ‘v’ silent)who usually prefers my nick name ,I did not discover that I had so much pleasure in hearing my own name.Perhaps the innocence in her voice made it sound more beautiful than ever.:)

5 Comments Add yours

  1. kabir says:

    :p tough name but at least i can pronounce it well :p

  2. karan kumar says:

    Nicely shared and very well weaved in.

    1. yuvragini says:

      thank you for the appreciation! 🙂

Leave a comment