in tough times optimism is what you need to survive

on

Inspiration, Hope, Will, Courage all are wonderful words but one understands the true meaning after experiencing in one way or another. Life throws a lot of situations at you and your choices define whether you will break or make through it. It’s tough indeed but the lessons imparted by them are lessons for life. In those tough moments words mentioned above comes alive. Life is just like a path, we travel on it to our destination and throughout its journey we learn a lot of things. We fall, we stand up, we walk and we thrive to reach our destination. It’s been said ‘To travel is to better than arrive’. I guess it’s totally relevant because it’s situations you face while walking, that imparts you valuable life lessons which helps you in growing. Since we are talking about Growing here, Housing(https://housing.com/lookup) is one such portal making our life easier and better.

I remember once when I was in 5th standard, I fell ill. I was told I had Typhoid. I used to have continuous pain in my chest and I remember once I was crying loudly while I was studying in my room because the pain was really bad, unbearable. I started losing weight, in a few days I was nothing more than skin and bones. I have been a really bright person (not boasting really), because I have always secured 1st position in every standard till then. I used to love books, like I am meant for them. That had been my purpose throughout. Studies were to me as playing Lego is to a kid. I don’t know whether it was medicines or its side effects that ate me up. My exam were on a roll and I haven’t had taken a single book in my hands for three weeks straight. I had no energy like my whole body is already drained off and there is nothing more I will be ever able to do. My mother saw this and one day she came into the room and asked me smilingly what’s wrong my child? You haven’t studied in a while. Is there something we can help you with? Tears started flowing out of my eyes and I curled up in my mother’s lap. She said it’s just another hurdle in life and maybe the fatal one I have seen by far in my own life. She also said but this is not going to be it, there are a lot more on their way. If I will break down like this at this early age, how will be I able to fulfil the dreams I have seen for my own self. She then said Life is like this only, there is peak and then there is a low and it’s up to me how I handle my lows and start climbing to the peak. That conversation stirred something inside me and I got back again to my studies as my body allowed me to. I was not able to secure 1st position that year and settled with 2nd one. To me that phase taught me a lot. I also discovered later that my family didn’t disclose that I was suffering from TB and not typhoid. It was their will that kept me alive all those time and still I derive a lot of strength from that incidence whenever I face a new one.

One Comment Add yours

  1. Kamal says:

    Nice post …

Leave a comment